Provincial Grand Lodge of Warwickshire

The full name of this order is The Masonic and Military Order of the Red Cross of Constantine and the Order of the Holy Sepulchre and St John The Evangelist. Its outstanding feature is that it is the only Order open to English masons which avowedly sets out to give a Christian interpretation of the Craft and Royal Arch.

The degrees which constitute this Order are:- (a) The Knights of the Red Cross of Constantine, and (b) The Knights of St. John and the Holy Sepulchre. Like the Knights Templar this Order has its Head Quarters at Mark Masons' Hall.

The Knights of the Red Cross of Constantine teach us the well-known story of how Constantine came to be converted to Christianity, but the Lecture contains a most interesting reference to the Roman College of Architects, who are regarded by some Masonic Scholars as the direct ancestors of the Comacine Masons. This degree is a stepping stone to the degree of the Knights of St. John and the Holy Sepulchre.

The ceremonies are solemn, dramatic and of deep mystical significance, but their most striking feature is an attempt to explain the Craft and Royal Arch Ceremonies in a Christian sense.

In the West Midlands Division, the Intendant - General is Colin Young, and the Divisional Recorder is Jeremy Mallin, 01564 773454.

Colin's predecessor as Intendant General is now the Grand Viceroy in the Order, R Ill and Emt Kt Richard V Wallis JP.

There are 14 Conclaves of the Order in the Division, meeting at Handsworth, Birmingham; Kings Heath, Birmingham; Knowle; Worcester; Stafford; Tewksbury; Telford; Newnham on Severn; Stoke on Trent; Guy's Cliffe, Warwick; Rugby; Cirencester and Sutton Coldfield.

Contact Us

The Provincial Grand Lodge of Warwickshire
Yenton Assembly Rooms
73, Gravelly Hill North, Erdington
Birmingham B23 6BJ


For Masonic enquiries:
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Tel: 0121 454 4422

The United Grand Lodge of England (UGLE) is the governing body for freemasons within England and Wales and districts overseas.